Menu
Will_Doggart.jpg

Latest News

News

Belfast Man Joins Ireland at the IWRF Wheelchair Rugby World Championships in Sydney

Thu 9th August 2018

Over recent years, particularly since the London 2012 Paralympics, Wheelchair Rugby has grown exponentially in terms of both popularity and activity in the world of disabled sport.  The sport was brought to Ireland 15 years earlier in 1997 and, this year - for the first time - the national side has qualified for the World Championships.

The side, which includes Belfast man Will Doggart, went undefeated at the qualification tournament in Switzerland in April to progress to the World Championships currently taking place in Sydney, Australia. 

To date in the championships the team (ranked at #19 in the IWRF World Rankings) has played Japan (#4), Denmark (#8), Sweden (#6), New Zealand (#9) and Australia (#1). Ireland have put in a very strong performance but have not yet taken any victories against the world leaders in the sport. 

Ireland will now face Poland - placed 5th in Group B - at 1.30amGMT/Irish time (10.30am Sydney time) on Court 2 on Thursday.  Friday's game will be at 12.30am GMT/Irish time (9.30am in Sydney) against Columbia or New Zealand on either Court 1 or Court 2 depending on the outcome of tomorrows contest.

These games along with all the others can be caught at www.2018wrwc.com/watch/.

An image of Will Doggart sitting in his Sports Chair with his arms folded